downloading brain content of all sorts…

image

image

image

image

image

Hi guys!

So here’s the deal, I’m overweight. And I’m not just saying that, it’s a legitimate statement. My BMI for my height + weight is so disproportionate. I’m not going to go into all the medical stuff, but the point is that I have decided to do something about it.

Lately, I have just been slacking when it comes to my diet that I’ve allowed it linger around for much too long. And I’m ready to part ways with my bad habits…
Follow me on Instagram for daily fitness, health, and inspirational updates. Here on the blog, I plan to post weekly updates on my diet, healthy recipes, and health-related on achieving a healthy lifestyle.

What am I doing about it?
This past weekend I started a personal fitness challenge, called #iamGlorgetsfit. My ultimate goal for the next six months to a year is to eat healthier, work out often, and to make better choices so that I can improve my overall health. (Notice I didn’t say anything about looking better).

So far, Week 1….

I’m feeling great; I went on a 3 miles run/hike over the weekend, been walking 45 minutes every day during my lunch break, and I’ve also been packing healthy lunches and snacks.

The most important part of the weight loss process is realizing that you have some work to do. Don’t focus on the work, focus on your journey and goal. If you focus on your journey you’ll learn things about yourself, especially things that trigger stress and emotional eating. I’m an emotional eater so I have learned to be hyper-aware about the people, situations, and things that drives me to stuff my face.

Staying focus on my goal is an important part of my weight loss journey. I have identified two important goals: eat healthier and workout frequently. For me, these two goals are crucial because my life is full of activities, planning, schedules, meetings, deadlines, etc. Being an emotional eater, I need to watch what I put in my mouth, and most importantly when. Being aware of the situations that triggers your eating will help you improve your eating habits.

Staying focus for me is not just about what I put in my mouth and when, but it also has to be extremely healthy, too. Like, say I’m craving carbs or sweets, I don’t deprive myself. I go for what I crave, but I crave lightly by limiting my portions. Or better yet finding a healthier versions of my food cravings and allowing myself to indulge.

Lastly, exercising self control is another way that I stay focus on my goal. For example, few weeks ago, I went to a lunch meeting with my coworkers to an Irish Restaurant. I knew I’d be faced with so many choices, so what I did was look at the menu online ahead of time to see what healthy choices they had. This saved me from making an emotional decision to order based on what the others ordered or how hungry I was feeling. (Peer pressure is real, my friends even for us adults).

Next time, I’ll tell you how I’ll be tracking my progress, and I’m also working on a post on the importance of doing this one thing that could essentially change the way you think. (Hint it’s what you do or don’t do at night). Stay tuned, follow, and share your own tips, comments, or questions below. And please share with others needing a a little encouragement. We’re all in it together.

Thanks for reading!

–xxGlor 💋✌
#iamGlorgetsfit
Instagram: @iamglor

2 Responses to “Fitness Challenge: #iamGlorgetsfit”

  1. caroline

    YAY! You are going to feel so great! If you want I am happy to support you (I have about 15+ years of being a trainer behind me).
    xo
    styleontheside.com

    Reply
    • iamglor

      Ohmygosh, yes please! I’d love your help and any advice/tips etc would be so appreciated. Sorry I’m just seeing this, I’ve been having issues with my WP app. Thanks so much!!!!

      Reply

Comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

